The Cuneo mansion is now an historic house museum. The home was designed by architect Benjamin Marshall for Samuel Insull, founder of the Commonwealth Edison Company. John Cuneo, Sr. purchased the home and estate in 1937. He was the founder of The Cuneo Press and the Hawthorn Mellody Dairy. The Cuneo family lived in the home until 1990. The museum and gardens were opened to the public in 1991. Interpretive tours of the mansion and its collections are conducted by museum guides and staff. The opulent Mediterranean style mansion features an arcaded central hall, a lavish formal dining room and a private chapel. The collections include antique furnishings, Renaissance paintings, tapestries, silver and porcelain. Souvenirs of your visit and unique gifts are available in the Museum Store. The Cuneo Museum is accessible to our handicapped guests with front door drop-off and an elevator to all three floors. The mansion is surrounded by formal gardens in season. There are also White Fallow Deer and peacocks on the grounds. While food service is available only during special events, the mansion is surrounded by many fine restaurants.