Sulphur Regional Library HistoryBoth R.W. Human, president of the Sulphur Lions Club and Dave Dugas, police juror, urged the crowd (gathered at the opening of the Sulphur Branch Library) to take advantage of their new facility April 4, 1944. By the end of its first month, the Library had circulated almost 3,000 books. Miss Dixie Tarver was the first Branch Manager.The library was located in a small caf' on Napoleon Street downtown. In November, 1960, sporting a new flag donated by the Henry family, the new larger location opened.The Sulphur Friends of the Library organized in 1984. Since its inception, the group has continued to maintain a perpetual book sale, and provided the library with many "extras" such as new tables, stools, and bulletin boards. By 1989, the Library Branch had outgrown its facility again.Thanks to the Capital Improvement Program in February 1992, construction began on a new site. The new facility measures over 21, 000 square feet, houses over 90,000 books and 250 magazine titles, as well as audio visual materials. It serves as a reference resource library for all of west Calcasieu Parish.In its lobby, patrons are greeted by a unique brick sculpture by artist Paula Collins depicting life in Calcasieu Parish. The building is approximately 21,300 square feet with a collection size of 94,000+.