Borough Of Medford Lakes1 Cabin Circle Dr, Medford, NJ 08055
(609) 654-8898 Additional Contacts
Borough History: Over the Years - Historically, Medford Lakes has a rich heritage. During the Revolutionary War, the Aetna Furnace made a local contribution to the war effort through the manufacture of cannon balls. Also a part of the industrial life of what is now Medford Lakes was the saw and grist mill erected by John Haines. - The Medford Lakes Development Company was formed in 1927, and in 1928 the Colony Club Pavilion was built by Colonists on ground donated by the Development Company. - Construction of the Golf Course began in 1929. - Medford Lakes Camp came into being in 1930. - The Medford Lakes Log Cabin Hotel (later known as the Lodge and finally Settlers Inn) was constructed in 1931. - 1931 was also the year that the Cathedral of the Woods Protestant Church was dedicated. - After the collapse of the Pavilion from a snow storm in 1938, the Vaughn Community House was built. - The sewage system for the community was built in 1937-1938 through WPA assistance and has been extended so that now Medford Lakes is completely sewered. - Medford Lakes Borough was established as an independent municipality in 1939.