Henrietta Town Hall475 Calkins Road, Henrietta, NY 14467
When Henrietta offically became a town in 1818, it also became the crossroad of Monroe County. The pioneers settled here on the various crossroads of the town and agriculture became their prominent occupation. Not only is Henrietta the geographical center of the county, it has also become the apex for business and commerce, culture and history. Settlement began in the early 1800s by people of English descent on the various crossroads of Henrietta. One settlement was called "Calkins Corners" located on Calkins and East Henrietta Road and then there was Stevens Corner at Wadsworth (Pinnacle) and Calkins' Roads. Another was at the corner of East Henrietta Road and Lehigh Station Road, while another was located at the intersection of the plank road (West Henrietta Road) and Erie Station Road. These two areas became known as the East Village and the West Henrietta Village. Rivalry existed between these two hamlets. People built homes on the western crossroads of East River Road as well as Pinnacle Road on the east side of town. Settlement also took place on Middle Road and Erie Station Road which was known as Search's Hill for a prominent citizen whose Greek Revival house stilll stands looking over the valley below. The early settlers established small businesses. By 1812 there were six asheries, three sawmills and one brickyard. On the east side of town by 1810 a store was located in Acer's Tavern on East Henrietta Road where he also opened a post office. On the west side of town a store was opened by David Jeffords atop Methodist Hill. Taverns would follow and a hotel was kept by Henry Chapman on the southeast corner of West Henrietta Road and Erie Station Road by 1820. Several other taverns were built in other parts of town. Medical needs of the town were met by Dr. Jonah Simonds, the first physician. He came in 1811. Henrietta remained an agricultural town for over a hundred years. With the advent of a sewage systerm, and new water and gas lines, a building surge began The town became known as a 'Boom Town'. When returning veterans of WWII were looking for homes, they came to the many housing tracts being developed. The population grew from around 3,000 in the early1950s to 14,000 in the 1960's. For many years it was known as the 'Township of Friendship" and even though the population had been expanded it still had a small town flavor. Today the population is over 37,000. Henrietta has been known for its low tax base and so continues to attract new people and business. It has bcome an urban center with farmland mostly existing in the southern part of town. What began as strictly an agricultural town, now is a blend of agricultural, commercial, and residential areas. The Historic Site Committee for the town has established twelve preservation districts protecting many of our old structures and culture. Every day Henrietta lives out its history in both large and small events. Yet Henrietta,with all of its services and features can boast that it is a great place in which to live and work!